Storia di Noale

History of Noale

Among the towns of the province of Venice, NOALE is maybe the one where the medieval atmosphere is most deeply preserved and where, at the same time, it is possible to breathe the dynamic rhythms of modern life, since it is located at only 20 Km about from historical and business cities, such as Venice-Mestre, Padua, Treviso, Castelfranco, Asolo.

The medieval town of Noale enjoyed its period of greatest splendour under the rule of the Tempesta family from 1158 to 1343. Its monuments, in fact, date back to those years. In particular, the large crenellated doors at the entrance to the historical centre, known as Torre dell'Orologio and Torre delle Campane, and the Spalti, in the centre of which are the remains of the Rocca dei Tempesta. In the Piazza Castello (called Campazzo) is located the Chiesa Arcipetrale, where visitors can admire: the Pala by Palma il Giovane, the altar by Sansovino, the large wooden painting, ascribed to Lattanzio da Rimini (16th century), the Pala dell'Assunta ascribed to Alvise Vivarini, and the wooden font with pictures by Andrea Schiavone (15th-16th century). Besides the Torre delle Campane, used as art gallery for the permanent exhibition of paintings by Emilio Greco, there is the small church of the Assunta, the remains of the convent of S. Maria della Misericordia. Palazzo Municipale (1848) exhibits a collection of about 70 canvas by the painter Egisto Lancerotto (1847-1916) from Noale. In the centre of the village, at the main crossroads, visitors can admire the so-called “Colonna della Pace” (16th century) by Paolo Pino Veneziano.

In the Piazza XX Settembre is located the Palazzo Scotto (1600), where the Town Library and the Historical Archive (dating back to 1405) and third in order of importance in the province of Venice, are placed.


Via G. Tempesta, 124 30033 Noale - Venezia - Tel. 041.4433299 -Fax 041.442104 - C.F./Partita Iva: 00732540273 -

Site map - Privacy

Realizzazione siti web Venezia Realizzazione siti web Elinet.